How to understand and manage deactivated user ehavior

Created by Monica Madan, Modified on Thu, 29 Feb 2024 at 02:01 PM by Monica Madan

  • Plan Availability
  • Essential
  • Standard
  • Premium
  • Enterprise

This article explains how Rocketlane handles deactivated users. It outlines where they're completely removed from the system and where they're labeled with a "deactivated suffix" to maintain historical context. For example: You can't add a deactivated user to a project or template, but tasks assigned to them before deactivation display with a "deactivated icon" for reference. 


Here is what it looks like 



Module

Shown in the UI

Removed from the system

Projects

Deactivated users are not removed from a project, including cases where the user is the project owner. The UI displays the user's name with a (deactivated) suffix."

Project invitations will not show other deactivated users, even in search. If a deactivated user is removed from a project, they cannot be added again."

Tasks

Deactivated users are not removed from task assignees. The UI displays the user's name with a (deactivated) suffix.

Tasks cannot be assigned to a user after they are deactivated. Assignee dropdowns will still show deactivated users if previously assigned, but will not display other deactivated users, even in search.

Single and multi user fields

Deactivated users are not removed from these fields if their value is already present. The UI displays the user's name with a (deactivated) suffix.

Once a deactivated user is removed from a user field, they cannot be added again. User fields will still display deactivated users if previously selected but will not show other deactivated users, even in search. 

Filters

  • Any team member type field filters will display only the list of active users

  • If the user searches by name on a filter, it will show matching deactivated users as well, if any. This applies to any and all team member type filters throughout the product

  • Reports will include a user filter with status options: active/deactivated/invited


NA

Resource management

  • When a team member is deactivated, their allocations from the projects are not removed.

  • In the projects page, when expanding a project, deactivated users that were already there will continue to be visible.

  • In the people page, deactivated users are not shown by default. However, users can go to the filters, search for the specific deactivated user, and the page will then display the deactivated user and all their relevant information.


NA

Templates

NA

When a team member is deactivated, we need to remove them as assignees from any tasks and eliminate them from the resource allocation page, deleting any allocations the user had from the template.

Reports

Any team member based report should display deactivated users as a row only if there is data to show for that user; deactivated users without any data will not be included in the report.





Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article

Contact our support team

Have more questions? Paid users can log in and email or chat with us.

Start your free trial